Camp, TWD style 

TWD

Teacher with Diabetes.

There are little things I never thought about when studying to be a teacher, and this is one of them – who knew school camps were such a pain in the ass when they’re not diabetes camps? What do you mean, there’s no hypo bag? I have to remember that I’m no use to anyone if I’m careening around at 2.4! Having diabetes when you’re a teacher is very doable, but by god it requires planning!

I’m off on a 3 day surf camp tomorrow with our gorgeous year 10s, and what with the constant activity and 38 degree forecast, hypos (especially heat hypos – hello darkness my old friend) are most probably on the horizon…so this is my Sunday night (PSA, Starburst are $1 each at Coles, get on it). 

Most other teachers spend the night before a camp getting into bed early and remembering to pack sunscreen, I spend my Sunday night sorting hypo servings into gladbags.

I’m hoping that I don’t hypo badly in the next few days (let’s be real, with my heat hypo record it’s impossible to ask for none!) – here’s to stuffing 5 bags of lollies down my wetsuit and hoping for the best. Nothing like a salt water soaked jelly baby to get your BGLs up. 

One response to “Camp, TWD style 

  1. I hope you will not have significant low blood sugars as well. I believe you will have the best time.

    This item has been referred to the TUDiabetes Blog page for the week of November 7, 2016

Leave a Reply

