The Healthcare Experience

Most people who live with a chronic illness end up with a lot of experience when it comes to dealing with healthcare. How would you improve or change your healthcare experience? What would you like to see happening during medical visits with your healthcare team? How about when dealing with your health insurance companies? What’s your Healthcare Wish List or Biggest Frustration? Today is the day to share it all!

I’m not going to focus on healthcare professionals in this post – you guys do an incredible job, which I could never do. What I think really needs to be talked about is the accessibility of healthcare. Who can access it, and who cannot?

The word ‘accessibility’ covers a lot of ground – how do I travel to my healthcare provider? How do I get my meds? What treatment options are open to me? How do I get the best care? However, the most pertinent aspect for me (and the only one that I really know anything about, due to earning fuck all) is the financial question of accessibility.

Good healthcare should not revolve around your ability to pay. We are so lucky in Australia to have a public healthcare system, however this system is overstretched and under resourced, and I have a terrible feeling that it’s going to remain like that unless people start seeing the gift that is universal healthcare. People wait months to be seen, while those who can afford it skip the queue. This applies to diabetes as well, many people don’t see an educator or endo due to the fact that we can’t spare a couple of hundred dollars! We’re already stretched with paying a couple of hundred per month for diabetes supplies, add on healthcare costs and you’re stuck eating rice and frozen vegies for the next fortnight. I’m lucky enough to still be young enough to count as a ‘dependent’ on my parents private health insurance, even though I haven’t lived at home for years and pay them every month for that insurance. The pump works for me, and I shudder to think of the situation I’d be in if I had no PHI and couldn’t afford to treat my diabetes the way I need to.

I am SO blessed in my healthcare professionals – I see them though a clinic at The Alfred, and it is all bulk billed. My educator is an absolute treasure and I’m hoping to follow her until she retires, but when I want to have kids, I’ll need to see her privately. With the extra BGL supplies needed during a type 1 pregnancy, as well as all the extra scans and checks, will I have the money there and waiting for her?

It blows my mind that governments around the world are trying to rip up universal healthcare systems (I’m looking at you, conservative British and Australian governments!), when we already have a lovely dystopian preview of what a society that dictates care through ability to pay may look like (hi USA!). Healthcare needs to be accessible to EVERYONE, not just those who have the funds.

If I could choose one way to improve healthcare, it would be to mimic the best version of universal healthcare, worldwide. There shouldn’t be a need for organisations that send insulin to people that can’t afford it,and it’s an absolute tragedy that this even exists. However the sad fact is that there are still people living with a lower quality of life, or even dying, simply due to the fact that they can’t afford to manage their diabetes. We need to find a solution, and fast – because every time someone can’t access healthcare, humanity itself becomes a little less human.

 

5 responses to “The Healthcare Experience

  1. This is such an important post! I am sharing it on my page NOW! Thank you

  2. So true! There are challenges to our universal health care here in Canada. I would love to see improved access to supplies and devices but better yet would be to see that offered world wide. Great post!

  3. I feel the same way about universal health care….why would you want to destroy something like that? The size of your wallet should not impact on the care you recieve. Did you see the Healthcare survey released last year where it was basically seeing how easily they could transition us to a US style of Healthcare?

  4. yes! healthcare NEEDS to be affordable for EVERYONE. for sure. i’m currently in a good position, but i’m always worried things will change.

Leave a Reply

