#IWishPeopleKnewThatDiabetes

Today is #IWishPeopleKnewThatDiabetes day – where people with diabetes use this hashtag to create and spread awareness about this disease, and give those of you with a healthy pancreas a little bit of an idea of what out day to day looks like.
#IWishPeopleKnewThatDiabetes is something that weighs upon me. Not in the front of my mind, more so like a pimple on my chin. You know it’s there, you’ve tried to deny it, hide it, and joke about it – but at the end of the day you just have to get on with life, knowing that the pimple is there for the foreseeable future.

However, unlike pimples, #IWishPeopleKnewThatDiabetes is here to stay, and requires constant monitoring. After six years, thinking about my diabetes is second nature, and I sometimes forget what was in my head before I got type 1. What did I even think about?!

#IWishPeopleKnewThatDiabetes gives you perspective. There is an answer to what I thought about before diabetes – unimportant shit! Diabetes allows you to take a step back and realise that, in the great scheme of things, forgetting to photocopy a test or saying something embarrassing at a party is a minuscule blip. Having to be your own pancreas, and literally keep yourself functioning day to day, makes it easier to be grateful for the little things.

When I sat down to supervise production rehearsal tonight, my pump alarmed loudly, screaming “NO BATTERY!” Curling up in the theatre, I quickly shoved my hand down my top (the students are used to that by now!), shut it down, and continued to coach year 7s on the finer points of a pirouette.

#IWishPeopleKnewThatDiabetes is something that, sometimes, you just don’t have time for. Let me teach my kids, let me live my life, and then I’ll deal with my lazy pancreas.

Leave a Reply

