Scumbag Pump

My pump has been a pain in my ass lately – both figuratively and literally (shout out to one of my Purple campers from Teenage Camp for inspiring me to do a booty site).

I am unbelievably lucky to have a pump, which basically is thanks to the fact that I am still young enough to be on my parents’ health insurance and pay relatively cheap fees – am not looking forward to that 25th birthday! HOWEVER, pumps are not all sunshine and rainbows, and lately it’s started to grate on me.

I’ve decided to call it Scumbag Pump – inspired by the Scumbag Steve and Scumbag Brain meme. Examples are here if you’re not down and hip with the youths!

So why not create my own?

My pump has done numerous scumbag things the past few weeks, including:

  • Alarming loudly to alert me that my battery was low. Was this at a nice sensible time, like midday? No, it was 3 AM. 3 AM the night before school went back. Who needs sleep?
  • The site peeling off my skin one hour after my site change, because I decided to go for a walk. A WALK. Apparently that’s too hard to handle, all that strenuous dawdling to the milk bar must have been too much.
  • Beeping loudly to remind me to test in the middle of yoga class – during relaxation time, where everything is silent and dark…except for the dulcet tones of my Animas squarking through my singlet. I felt a bit werid retorting to “Turn your phone off!” with “It’s actually my pancreas!”
  • Catching on the doorknob at work, pulling me back, making me drop everything in my hands, and making me turn a swear word into a “FIRETRUCK!” so I didn’t drop the F bomb in front of 12 year olds.
  • Falling out of my bra onto my face while Purple Team tried to take the best upside down photo for Teenage Camp scavenger hunt. Don’t do a backbend with a pump, it ends badly.
  • Alarming and glowing through my shirt on a date. Nothing says “date me!” like a beeping slightly cyborg-like contraption on my chest.
  • Three sites failing on me – I may have to change, I don’t know what’s going on, but waking up with ketones of 2 is not the way to start my weekend. If I feel that crappy, I want to have had a good night beforehand!!

LOVE having a pump, I LOVE the diabetes options it gives me, and I am so grateful that I live in a country where I have access to not only insulin, but management choices. I also love Animas – I will probably never change companies, their customer service is incredible and their pumps are awesome. However, sometimes being attached to a machine 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, really takes its toll!

animas meme 2animas meme 3animas meme

4 responses to “Scumbag Pump

  1. Oh my gosh! Scumbag Pump really needs to be a thing. I can add one: “Nailing important presentation at work – Beeps uncontrollably because you ‘only’ have 24 hours of insulin left”

  2. Hi Georgie, How are you?
    I just really enjoyed reading your scumbag post!
    I would like to send you something that will help you do handstands and crabs and all manor of upside down things : )
    My name is Katie Isherwood and as a T1 of many years, and an underwear designer I have created a range of accessories to help us to tuck pumps away, check out my website: http://www.hid-in.com

    I’d love you to try a couple of things out and perhaps pass on some feedback. If you forward me a postal address and your underwear size we’ll do the rest Have a great day!

    Katie x

Leave a Reply

