Sick days are not the same.

The thing I love and hate about my job is that when you’re sick, you can’t take an easy day and knock out some mindless tasks.  

Have you ever tried teaching a year 9 class with a high blood sugar, after a day of brain fog and feeling like you’re wading through mud? Trying to keep 15 year old boys on task in French is really hard when you want to vomit. 

People with working bodies would say “take a day off”. But if I took a day off every time my body rebelled against me, I would be at home more than I would be at work. This high stayed around all day, I couldn’t budge it and it’s still hovering around 20. 

Sick days for chronically ill people aren’t “sick” days, they’re “oh dear god I cannot actually function, I would be a threat to everyone at work” days. My workplace is amazing and so understanding, but as someone with a very strong work ethic, I refuse to let my pancreas dictate what I can achieve, unless I’m literally in DKA and cannot function. 

I’m so lucky to have a condition that’s manageable, but I really wish I could pick the timing. 5pm today would have been better body, not bang on 8.55am. 

Screw your pancreas, all I wanted was a cruisy Thursday. 

 

7 responses to “Sick days are not the same.

  1. Salut! I’m a French teacher too and the mum of a great 14 yr old boy with T1. I have Yr 9 French and cannot imagine how I’d teach them feeling less than 100%. You are a star!

  2. I’m in NSW, if I can ever help you with anything, let me know. I’m happy to share!

  3. I can only hope that I didn’t have a diabetic teacher when I was in year 9.. I was horrid. My Dad was type 1 and self employed, he ran a small fishing business in a country town – so when ever he was low or high, he just had to tough it out like you’ve mentioned. I can only admire the strength of Type 1 Diabetics who do this constantly. Good form.

  4. Nicole Lascurain

    Hi Georgie,

    First off, I came across your site and wanted to say thanks for providing a great diabetes resource to the community.

    This hilarious list, 29 Things Only a Person with Diabetes Would Understand, has really resonated with our followers because it provides emotional support and understanding in a comical way, and I thought you might enjoy it as well: http://www.healthline.com/health/diabetes/would-understand

    Naturally, I’d be delighted if you share this list on https://lazypancreas.wordpress.com/2015/07/16/sick-days-are-not-the-same/ , and/or on social , especially because they could really relate. Either way, keep up the great work Georgie!

    All the best,

  5. Nicole Lascurain

    Hi Georgie,

    First off, I came across your site and wanted to say thanks for providing a great diabetes resource to the community.

    This hilarious list, 29 Things Only a Person with Diabetes Would Understand, has really resonated with our followers because it provides emotional support and understanding in a comical way, and I thought you might enjoy it as well: http://www.healthline.com/health/diabetes/would-understand

    Naturally, I’d be delighted if you share this list on https://lazypancreas.wordpress.com/2015/07/16/sick-days-are-not-the-same/ , and/or on social , especially because they could really relate. Either way, keep up the great work Georgie!

    All the best,

    Nicole Lascurain | Assistant Marketing Manager
    p: 415-281-3100 | e: nicole.lascurain@healthline.com

    Healthline
    660 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94107
    http://www.healthline.com | @Healthline

Leave a Reply

