Food on Friday!

Taking a cue from Adam Brown’s recent post, write a post documenting what you eat in a day!  Feel free to add links to recommended recipes/shops/whatever.  Make it an ideal day or a come-as-you-are day – no judgments either way.

This topic reminds me of the “Day on a Plate” column in The Age newspaper. It’s usually has a celebrity’s daily meals, and has things like “Quinoa salad with a side of kale chips and cold pressed juice.” Well, I’m not a rich celebrity – I’m a pretty strapped-for-cash teacher who cooks and eats for one. My day on a plate? I’m going to be honest! My ‘good weeks’ and ‘bad weeks’ below simply mean how I’m feeling – sometimes I’m stressed as hell and eat nothing, sometimes my week is fabulous and I have motivation to spend time making delicious meals.

Breakfast: I usually skip it, because I prioritise sleep over food. I may grab an apple or banana on the way out the door to work. It’s bad I know! I’m just always so tired! My weekend breakfasts are pretty damn delicious though, I’m a big fan of the omelette, avocado smash, or rolled oats!

Lunch: A good week? Usually some sort of sandwich or bean salad with chicken. Bad week? Nothing, or a Cup-Of-Soup

Afternoon tea: Cheese and crackers,  fruit, or whatever is hanging around in the staffroom. Today it was lemon cake, baked by one of my mentors for my birthday! Such a sweetheart.

Dinner: A good week? Pasta bake, meat and veggies, stir fry – whatever I can throw together in less than half an hour? Bad week? Omelette, toast, or whatever my aunt or Mum is cooking. It’s so boring cooking for one!

My diet is pretty boring, so my difficulties with diabetes really lie in stress and exercise – I get stressed and anxious so easily, and my sugars react.

One response to “Food on Friday!

  1. Definitely agree on the cooking for one its hard to be inspired.

    Apart from that it looks similar to my diet, I’m a creature of routine for foods.

Leave a Reply

