Keep it to yourself!

What are some of the aspects of diabetes that you choose to keep private from the internet?  Or from your family and friends?  Why is it important to keep it to yourself?

Let’s be honest here, I’m not a very private person in general. I’m Generation Y, the internet is my second home and I have no qualms about sharing my experiences. Maybe it’s narcissistic, maybe I’m just being open, but what I choose to share, I share for a reason.

When I write raw and personal posts, I write them so people can relate, or so they can have some sort of idea about what living with diabetes is like. What would be the point of keeping a blog like mine otherwise?  I’m not saying one has to get down and personal every single post, but I think a bit of personal sharing is really valuable in the blogosphere – that one post might make one person feel better, and if it’s done that, your blog has done its job!

HOWEVER

I don’t share with my non diabetic family and friends much, if at all. A lot of the time, family and friends will mention something that they read on my blog but they’ve never heard me talk about. I just don’t like to share the ups and downs of diabetes with those around me in real life – we all know how varied each day can be, living with diabetes, what would happen if I let family and friends into my thought process every single day? Can you imagine getting all of these in SMS form?

6.30am – woke up at 17, why?
6.45am – oh lol guess who pulled out their cannula in the night.
6.50am – I feel so ill, think I’ll skip brekky this morning
9am – 7.2, yeah buddy, back in business
12pm – This focaccia is probably like what, 40g of carbs?
1pm – Why do I need to pee again.
1.45pm – No that focaccia was definitely not 40g, that’s why I need to pee again. 15.4, bummer. Correct.
4pm – I don’t want to test my blood sugar in the middle of this meeting, I wonder if I can make it look like I’m just looking at the handout?
4.02pm – No, that doesn’t work, now I have pinky finger blood all over “Literacy and Learning”. But I’m 5.4, woo.
7pm – I could smash some pasta. I’m even going to weigh this serving,  this carb counting will be so spot on.
9pm – 7.1 BOW DOWN I AM THE DIABETES MASTER
10pm – oh god it’s so cold, I’m so warm in bed and my meter is over in my bag…I’ll just leave it.
10.05pm – but what if I’m low
10.06pm – I’m not low
10.07pm – but what if I am
10.11pm – 6.2. That was so not worth it.

People around me know what they need to, and when I think it’s worth hearing, I’ll share. The thoughts above? They’re just for me. The thoughts I write about on this blog? They’re for everyone – diabetes is an intensely personal but also deeply relatable, and ultimately human, subject. I share what will make a difference, and leave the rest for me.

6 responses to “Keep it to yourself!

  1. Hah your timeline of thoughts is so relatable, made me smile 🙂

  2. I love this post SO MUCH. That SMS timeline is so funny and so true. Especially the “I’m not low” “but what if I am.” Thanks for making me laugh!

  3. Have to admit: I’m now tempted to text all my friends with “#bgnow 125 — woot!” just to see what happens… 🙂 Great list and post, thanks for sharing this!

  4. I love that last line “diabetes is an intensely personal but also deeply relatable, and ultimately human, subject. I share what will make a difference, and leave the rest for me.” Well said! Love this post!

  5. I love this post! And that last line, I’m sure, will resonate with many. It still surprises me how comforting it is to be in a room full of strangers yet feel conpletely at ease with them because of this very personal thing in common: life with diabetes. Looking forward to reading the rest of your posts 🙂

  6. Pingback: Diabetes Blog Week…And That’s a Wrap! | Type 1 Writes

Leave a Reply

