We, The Undersigned

blog-week-4DBLOG WEEK POST #2!

Recently various petitions have been circulating the Diabetes Online Community, so today let’s pretend to write our own. Tell us who you would write the petition to – a person, an organization, even an object (animate or inanimate) – get creative!! What are you trying to change and what have you experienced that makes you want this change? (Thanks to Briley of inDpendence for this topic suggestion.)

This is a hard one!

I really don’t know. I’m not a huge fan of petitions in general.

If anything, I want to change the fact that people make jokes about diabetes. I hate it. I get teary and angry when people ignore, after I’ve explained why I’m hurt, why it’s disrespectful and plain rude. I got into a cyber fight today with a guy on my uni facebook page because he commented on a picture of chocolate (COLES IS SELLING FAMILY BLOCKS FOR $1, RUN DON’T WALK) with a joke about diabetes. I can’t let it go, I dislike being called a party pooper if I call someone out on it.

Not being a party pooper, just making you into a DECENT HUMAN BEING.

Could you petition that? I don’t know. Petition for everyone who makes a diabetes joke after being explained to as to why it’s hurtful to be shot down by laser beams?

Don’t get me wrong, I love a good diabetes joke, but one that is INFORMED and RESPECTFUL…and involves a pun or two.

“You’re a diabadass” “Diabetics are the only people who don’t want to be high” = good

“LOL donuts 4 lunch! Diabetes here I come!” = bad

A petition to stop bad, uninformed, diabetes jokes. That would be swell.

6 responses to “We, The Undersigned

  1. I’ll sign on to that petition! Here’s to stopping those misinformed D jokes… except when we PWDs are using them as our own punchline, of course! Thanks for writing this.

  2. Depending on the day, I think every single diabetes joke is funny. Diabadass post!

  3. This will be a great petition 🙂

  4. That would be swell, and I sure would sign it!!

  5. I would definitely sign this! While I can laugh at my diabetes at times, sometimes the ignorance and disrespect is just too much. “I’m going to have diabetes when I finish this cake”. It’s not funny. People need to think about the consequences of what they say. So I totally support your petition!

  6. I totally agree! I don’t really hear people in my everyday life make jokes about diabetes but I definitely see or hear it on TV. Makes me mad when someone is getting ready to eat something sugary and says “Diabetes here I come”. I didn’t get T1D from eating too much sugar (although my diet pre-diabetes did consist of a lot of powdered sugar donuts :-P) I can laugh about diabetes sometimes but I hate that one joke that seems to be very prominent.

Leave a Reply

