Sharing is Caring

Image

So it’s Diabetes Blog Week, (thanks to Bitter~Sweet Diabetes) and although it’s Week 10 of uni and I have assessments and essays spilling out of my ears, I’ve decided to join in! What better procrastination than to write about stuff that isn’t uni related? It’s my first time, so please be nice πŸ™‚

So, the topic! “Often our health care team only sees us for about 15 minutes several times a year, and they might not have a sense of what our lives are really like. Today, let’s pretend our medical team is reading our blogs. What do you wish they could see about your and/or your loved one’s daily life with diabetes? On the other hand, what do you hope they don’t see?”

This is a pretty defunct question for me. I share everything with my health team.Β Everything.Β Honestly, my educator knows more about my fears, my habits and my relationships than my family or closest friends do. I want her to know everything, and I hide nothing. She is the only person in the world who knows exactly where my mental health is at.

This might seem weird to a few of you – why would I share such personal details with someone who’s simply there to make sure my hb1ac doesn’t get too high?

But the thing is, diabetes is such an all encompassing, 24/7 disease that it does affect every aspect of my life. I’m not saying my life is run by diabetes – quite the opposite – but it does give everything a certain flavour. Part of managing these disease is not only our day to day management, but also our mental health. Without being on top of it, without letting them know that you’re burning out or can’t face any more injections, how will your health care team be able to help you?

Your team is not there simply to say “Good job, increase your basal” (although they do that fabulously), they’re also there to support you in ways your loved ones cannot. Honestly, if I went in there with made up blood sugars (we’ve all been there, don’t deny it) and said “Everything is great!” when I hadn’t tested in a few days, I’d be wasting everybody’s time.

My team sees everything. They see me cry over sore fingers and injection bruises, get frustrated over my highs, cry some more over being burnt out, and give me a “get your shit together we love you don’t die” talk when I get lazy with my carb counting and end up at 15 all day. They don’t need to “wish” to see everything, or figure out if I’m lying about my blood sugars, because by laying it all out on the table, we’re working together as a team. That’s what we should be. Not a team telling the patient what to to, but the patient with diabetes as part of the team πŸ™‚

5 responses to “Sharing is Caring

  1. Good for you – I think it’s fantastic to share absolutely everything with your health care team and I think that is the only way to get the best possible care. I’ll admit, it’s not easy for me to share the bad stuff, but you’ve inspired me to try to be more honest!

  2. Love how you tell it like it is Georgie!! πŸ˜€

  3. My first reaction is , Damn, you’re lucky. I wish my endo asked me about the way i felt about diabetes. i would love to chat with her about how it affects my mental health.
    my second reaction is, Damn, I wish i had the courage to get in there and be 100% honest.

    I put on a facade and try to come off as the perfect patient, like “Probably Rachel” said (in her post for day 1:
    http://probablyrachel.com/2013/05/13/d-blog-week-share-and-dont-share/) that I avoid mentioning any of the difficulties. I have the feeling my doc just doesn’t get it.

    When I asked her why she chose endocrinology as a specialty in med-school and she said ” i thought it was interesting”.

    that was my invitation to keep meeting short and sweet.

    thank you for sharing. it got me thinking a lot.

  4. I am not the patient, my daughter is. (And there’s a blog post there too, all about disentangling her needs and my needs – it’s not always obvious which is which or whose I’m putting first!). But I am thrilled for you that you can use your team as more than a mathematical data analysis team. Knowing they are interested in working with you to support your overall well being has got to be a great feeling! I wish it was that way for everyone.

  5. I love your saying-“the patient with diabetes as part of the team” I’ve never felt part of the team when seeing an endo but maybe if I took that point of view my appointments might go better…thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

